2020 Census: Redistricting Task Force

The Redistricting Task Force sets the City’s Supervisorial districts following each federal decennial census.

In this page:


    Redistricting Task Force DRAFT Report

    The Redistricting Task Force Final Report has been posted

    • The public comment period for the Redistricting Task Force report is now closed.

    Contact us

    Redistricting Task Force, 1 Dr Carlton B. Goodlett Place, City Hall, Room 244, San Francisco, Ca  94102
    (415) 554-4445, rdtf@sfgov.org


    The Redistricting Task Force consists of 9 members. The Mayor, the Board of Supervisors and the Elections Commission each appoint 3 members. These 9 individuals work with City staff and outside consultants to establish boundaries for San Francisco’s Supervisorial districts following each federal decennial census. The Task Force ensures the boundaries comply with the legal requirements established in federal, state and local law. As part of this process, the Redistricting Task Force holds multiple community hearings to receive input from the people of San Francisco.


    Members - Appointed by the Mayor

    Matthew Castillon

    Lily Ho

    Rev. Arnold Townsend - Chair

    Members - Appointed by the Board of Supervisors

    José María (Chema) Hernandez Gil

    Jeremy Lee

    J. Michelle Pierce

    Members - Appointed by the Elections Commission

    Raynell Cooper

    Chasel Lee

    Ditka Reiner - Vice Chair



    Redistricting Task Force

    1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place
    City Hall, Room 244
    San Francisco, CA 94102