What to do
Stay healthy by getting vaccinated
If you are fully vaccinated, you do not have to wear a face covering, unless you are in a situation where masks are required.
But as of July 16, 2021, all Bay Area counties strongly urge that everyone, even if vaccinated, wear masks in indoor public places. This is to ensure easy verfication that all unvaccinated individuals are wearing masks in those places. It is also an added precautionary measure for all because of the rise in COVID-19 cases and the rapid increase of the highly-transmissible Delta variant. See the press release from the Bay Area health officers for more information.
If you are not yet fully vaccinated, you must wear a face covering indoors in public buildings.
Everyone should carry a face covering at all times, because you will still need it in some cases.
- On public transportation (or waiting for it indoors)
- Driving or riding in a taxi or rideshare vehicle (even by yourself)
- Inside a K to 12 school, childcare facility, or other youth setting
- At a business where they require masks for all patrons, no matter their vaccination status
- Homeless shelters, cooling centers and emergency shelters
You will not be allowed to board public transportation if you are not wearing a face covering.
All businesses are now open. Businesses can also follow best practices to prevent COVID-19 transmission.
Events with more than 5,000 people are allowed. But organizers must follow requirements for mega-events in the health order about vaccination, testing, and masks.
People should wait to travel until after they are fully vaccinated. See CDC guidance on traveling.
People not fully vaccinated who are coming to San Francisco from outside California should quarantine for 10 days. If you are fully vaccinated (2 weeks from final vaccine dose), you do not need to quarantine. See official travel guidance from the State of California.
Look out for older adults and people most at risk
Older adults and those with underlying health conditions are most at risk of getting severe illness from COVID-19. This is especially important when they are not vaccinated yet.
If you are not vaccinated, consider if it’s worth the risk to go out if you are older or have a chronic health condition.
If you are feeling sick, call your doctor, a nurse hotline, or an urgent care center. You can also get tested for COVID-19 at various locations in San Francisco.
You must wear a mask to go inside any healthcare facilities.
Schools and childcare
San Francisco plans on reopening for full in-person classes for all grades at the beginning of the 2021 - 2022 school year.
We will continue to update our guidance as the state and the CDC update their recommendations.
Check the school reopening dashboard to see where schools are in the process.
Childcare providers and after school programs are open for all children. Find out more about schools and childcare during the coronavirus pandemic.
This is a legally enforceable order issued under California law. It is a crime to violate this order. You may be punished by a fine or imprisonment if you do.
If there are other guidelines that do not agree with SF’s order, follow the stricter rule.
Last updated July 19, 2021