## SUPERVISION OF CHILDREN

- <u>POLICY:</u> Children in our care will be supervised by staff at all times, even when sleeping. Staff to Child Ratios as required by Title 22 Community Care Licensing laws and regulations and/or by Title 5 Department of Education laws and regulations will be strictly followed at all times.
- **<u>PURPOSE</u>**: To ensure every child has a healthy, safe, and supportive experience. To prevent injuries and protect the health of the children. To provide adult intervention when needed.

## **PROCEDURE:**

1. Ratios: Depending on each center's funding, some childcare centers must follow both title 5 and title 22 regulations, and others only follow title 22 regulations. If both regulations apply to the center, the more restrictive regulations should be followed.

CHILD CARE CENTERS <i>QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE</i> Requirements & Regulations California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division; Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start; California Department of Education, Early Education and Support Division		
Column 1 COMMUNITY CARE LICENSING DIVISION (Title 22 and Health & Safety Code)	Column 2 HEAD START & EARLY HEAD START (45 Code of Federal Regulation and Head Start Act)	Column 3 DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION – EARLY EDUCATION AND SUPPORT DIVISION (California Code of Regulation Title 5 and Education Code)
CHILD RATIOS Title 22: 101216.3, 101416.5	CFR 1306.32(a)(12), 1306.20(c), 1304.52(g)(4)	5 CCR § 18290; 5 CCR § 18291 and Title 5
<ul> <li>Preschool</li> <li>1 Teacher to 12 preschool children</li> <li>1 Teacher &amp; Teacher Assistant to 15 preschool children</li> <li>Infant/Toddlers</li> <li>1 Teacher for every six toddlers</li> <li>1 Teacher for every four infants</li> <li>1 fully qualified teacher to visually observe no more than 12 sleeping infants</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Preschool</li> <li>4-5 year olds: 17-20 children per class.</li> <li>4-5 year olds in double session classes: 15-17 children enrolled per class.</li> <li>3-yr. olds: 15-17 children enrolled per class.</li> <li>3 year olds in double session classes: 13- 15 children enrolled per class.</li> <li>Center based options must employ two paid staff persons (as teacher &amp; a teacher aide or two teachers) for each class. Whenever possible, there should be a third person in the classroom who is a volunteer.</li> <li>Infant/Toddlers</li> <li>1 qualified teacher to 4 infants/toddlers</li> <li>8 infants/toddlers to a group</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Infants (birth to 18 months old)</li> <li>1:3 adult-child ratio,</li> <li>1:18 teacher-child ratio.</li> <li>Toddlers (18 months to 36 months old)</li> <li>1:4 adult-child ratio</li> <li>1:16 teacher-child ratio</li> <li>Preschool (36 months to kindergarten)</li> <li>1:8 adult-child ratio</li> <li>1:24 teacher child ratio</li> <li>Compliance with these ratios shall be determined based on actual attendance.</li> </ul>

Note: Programs must follow the most stringent regulation if funding is layered. This document is intended to be a quick reference to common regulations and does not replace the full scope of the actual regulation.

Authored: Compiled and Authored by the California Head Start State Collaboration Office Community Care Licensing Workgroup Comprised of staff from the California Department of Education California Head Start State Collaboration Office, California Head Start Association, California Department of Social Service Community Care Licensing, Head Start Directors, and California Department of Education Early Education and Support Division. Revised 2016 Page 3 of 30

> San Francisco Department of Public Health Child Care Health Program 333 Valencia St. 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, San Francisco, CA 94103

- See sections D-2 for simplified flyers with Title 22 child to staff ratios for Child Care Centers, and section D-3 for ratios for Family Child Care Homes. (Current as of July 2023). These documents can be found at <u>https://www.cdss.ca.gov/inforesources/childcare-licensing/how-to-become-licensed</u>
- 3. Volunteers may be used to satisfy enhanced ratios but not required ratios.
- 4. Supervision of gross motor play A written schedule will be prepared by the Director or designee and used to assign staff to supervise high-risk areas (see template provided in section D-4).
- 5. Details on ratios can be found in the Child Care Centers Quick Reference Guide

