CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO Office of the COUNTY CLERK

Diane Rea
County Clerk

DEPUTY MARRIAGE COMMISSIONER
ONE TIME DEPUTIZATION POLICY

If you are interested in becoming a Deputy Marriage Commissioner for a day, please
see the restrictions below for this process:

Deputization will only be granted on a San Francisco County issued marriage
license.

A photocopy of the marriage license must be presented at time of deputization.
1. Must appear in person at the Office of the County Clerk with valid legal photo
identification.
Must be at least 18 years old.
California residency is not a requirement.
Must be fluent in the English language.

a DN

Applicant will be required to take the oath of office swearing/affirming to support
and defend the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the
State of California.

6. Marriage ceremony must be performed in California for the specific couple and
date listed on the oath.

7. Deputy Marriage Commissioners for a Day are not City officials and do not speak
for the City. They must adhere to statutory requirements concerning the
solemnization of marriages, but the City does not otherwise control the content of
marriage ceremonies they perform.

8. Deputization service is offered on a walk-in basis Monday - Thursday, 8:00 a.m. -
11:00 a.m. Deputizations are not offered on Fridays.

9. Fee is $177.00* payable to SF County Clerk.
10.Process takes approximately 30 minutes.

The Office of the County Clerk has a right to refuse deputization of a person should the
office feel that the person is unable to complete the paperwork correctly.

The deputization process is an optional service granted by some counties. Counties are
not required to provide this service. Should you not meet the requirements above, you
should try contacting other counties to inquire about their policies.

*Fee subject to change.

1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place — City Hall, Room 160, San Francisco, CA 94102
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City and County of San Francisco Office of the County Clerk,

Diane Rea
County Clerk

INSTRUCTION PACKET FOR DEPUTY MARRIAGE COMMISSIONER
Sworn-in for One Ceremony Only

Congratulations on becoming a Deputy Marriage Commissioner. Your commission is valid for ONE
civil ceremony only as stated on your oath of office to be performed in the State of California.

Deputy Marriage Commissioners cannot accept money or anything of value for performing a marriage on
a day other than a legal holiday or weekend, or will be in violation of Penal Code 70.5. Solemnizing a
marriage without first being presented with a California marriage license, willfully making a false
statement on a marriage license to the County Clerk, or failing to file a license within 10 days of marriage,
is a misdemeanor under Penal Code 360.

On the day of the ceremony, prior to officiating, the couple must provide you with a valid San Francisco
County issued marriage license.

Attached are instructions for completing the License and Certificate of Marriage (VS-117) and the
Confidential License and Certificate of Marriage (VS-123), whichever is applicable.

After the marriage, it is your responsibility to return the license to the proper agency:

If PUBLIC (VS-117) return to: If CONFIDENTIAL (VS-123) return to:
Assessor-Recorder County Clerk

1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place
City Hall, Room 190 City Hall, Room 168

San Francisco, CA 94102-4698 San Francisco, CA 94102-4678

Also, for your convenience, we have included copies of standard civil ceremony vows used by the San
Francisco County Clerk’s Office. If you use other ceremony vows, both parties must declare in your
presence when solemnizing the marriage that they take each other as husband/wife and husband/wife or
spouses for life. You are required to end the ceremony with the declaration “by virtue of the authority
vested in me by the State of California, | now pronounce you husband/wife and husband/wife [spouses for
life].”

If you have any questions regarding the ceremony or completion of the license, please contact our office
by visiting our website at sfgov.org/countyclerk or by phone at (415) 554-4950.

Please complete the following:

Full Legal Name of Person to be Deputized: Phone Number:

First Person’s Full Legal Name:

Second Person’s Full Legal Name:

Date of Ceremony: Location:

Deputization service is not available on Fridays. Fee: $177.00* (subject to change)

1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place — City Hall, Room 160, San Francisco, CA 94102
One day dep cover Itr form.doc 07/24



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING
LICENSE AND CERTIFICATE OF MARRIAGE (Form VS-117)

IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS: Use dark ink (black ink preferred). DO NOT alter, strikeover,
write over, erase, or cover with correction fluid/tape any writing, typing or pre-printed lettering on
the license. All entries must fit in the boxes. Do not write/type on or across the lines of the form.

IF LICENSE IS COMPLETED INCORRECTLY, IT CANNOT BE ACCEPTED FOR

REGISTRATION. AN AFFIDAVIT AND A FEE IS REQUIRED FOR A DUPLICATE MARRIAGE
LICENSE.

Verify Prior to the Ceremony:

Boxes 1A, B, C & 12A, B, C  Parties to be married are those listed on the license

Box 25B License has not expired

First Witness Completes the Following: Only 1 witness is required.

Box 26A Witness 1 signature
Box 26B Print or type name of witness
Box 26C Address, City, State and Zip Code

Second Witness Completes the Following: (Optional)

Box 27A Witness 2 signature
Box 27B Print or type name of witness
Box 27C Address, City, State, and Zip Code

Deputy Marriage Commissioner Completes the Following: Do not write in any boxes outside
the “Certification of Person Solemnizing Marriage” Section.

Box 28A Date of Ceremony in this format: mm/dd/yyyy (numeric and
slashes only, DO NOT USE DASHES)

Box 28B Type or print the city or town

Box 28C Type or print the California County where the ceremony
took place

Box 29A Signature of Deputy Marriage Commissioner

Box 29B Type or write — (single dash)

Box 29C Type or print your name as you were sworn on your Oath

Box 29D Official title is Deputy Marriage Commissioner. Title may be

abbreviated to Dep. Marr. Comm. DO NOT USE ANY
OTHER OFFICIAL TITLE YOU MAY HAVE.

Box 29E Type or print your complete mailing address using street
number and name or P. O. Box Number, City, State and
Zip/Postal Code

Marriage License Instructions.doc 7/2023



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING
LICENSE AND CERTIFICATE OF CONFIDENTIAL MARRIAGE (Form VS-123)

IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS: Use dark ink (black ink preferred). DO NOT alter, strikeover,
write over, erase, or cover with correction fluid/tape any writing, typing or pre-printed lettering on
the license. All entries must fit in the boxes. Do not write/type on or across the lines of the form.

IF LICENSE IS COMPLETED INCORRECTLY, IT CANNOT BE ACCEPTED FOR

REGISTRATION. AN AFFIDAVIT AND A FEE IS REQUIRED FOR A DUPLICATE MARRIAGE
LICENSE.

Verify Prior to the Ceremony:

Boxes 1A, B, C & 12A, B, C  Parties to be married are those listed on the license

Box 25B License has not expired

Deputy Marriage Commissioner Completes the Following: Do not write in any boxes outside
the “Certification of Person Solemnizing Marriage” Section.

Box 27A Date of Ceremony in this format: mm/dd/yyyy (numeric and
slashes only, DO NOT USE DASHEYS)

Box 27B Type or print the city or town

Box 27C Type or print the California County where the ceremony
took place

Box 28A Signature of Deputy Marriage Commissioner

Box 28B Type or write — (single dash).

Box 28C Type or print your name as you were sworn on your Oath.

Box 28D Official title is Deputy Marriage Commissioner. Title may be

abbreviated to Dep. Marr. Comm. DO NOT USE ANY
OTHER OFFICIAL TITLE YOU MAY HAVE.

Box 28E Type or print your complete mailing address using street

number and name or P. O. Box Number, City, State and
Zip/Postal Code

Marriage License Instructions.doc 7/2023



MARRIAGE VOWS (short)

We are gathered here [in the presence of withesses] for the purpose of uniting in
matrimony and

The contract of marriage is most solemn and is not to be entered into lightly, but
thoughtfully and seriously with a deep realization of its obligations and responsibilities.

Please remember that love, loyalty and understanding are the foundations of a happy
and enduring home.

No other human ties are more tender and no other vows more important than those
you are about to pledge.

Please face each other and join hands.

Do you , take , to be your
lawful wedded wife [spouse]? Do you promise to love her/him and comfort her/him,
honor her/him and keep her/him in sickness and in health, for richer and for poorer, for
better or for worse and be faithful to her/him as long as you both shall live?

Do you , take , to be your
lawful wedded husband [spouse]? Do you promise to love him/her and comfort
him/her, honor him/her and keep him/her in sickness and in health, for richer and for
poorer, for better or for worse and be faithful to him/her as long as you both shall live?

RING CEREMONY (OPTIONAL)

/ , the ring please. Place the ring on
her/his left ring finger and repeat after me, “I give you this ring, in token and pledge of
my constant faith and abiding love. With this ring, | thee wed.” (Repeat for Spouse 2)

Now that you have joined yourselves in matrimony, may you strive all your lives to
meet this commitment with the same love and devotion that you now possess.

By virtue of the authority vested in me by the State of California, | now pronounce you
Husband and Wife [Spouses for Life].

%
T

Marriage Vows Multi Short

Printed on 100% post-consumer recycled stock



San Francisco County Clerk
CIVIL CEREMONY MARRIAGE VOWS

We are gathered here in the presence of witnesses for the purpose of unitihg in -
matrimony '_ and , : | '

The contract of marriage is most solemn and is not to be entered into lightly, but
thoughtfully and seriously with a deep realization of its obligations and responsibilities.

and , no other words of

" mine or any other person truly marry each of you to the other. That is done when you
exchange your promises and commit yourselves to this marriage and each other.

By entering into this marriage, you are pledging yourselves to a lifetime in which each .
will enrich the life of the other. You will be partners standing together to cushion the
difficulties of life. Rejoice in your partner's graces. Nurture your marriage carefully and
watch it grow gracefully. Marriage is a point of honor. Marriage is a full time job.

Please face each other and join hands.

Do you , take ' , to be your lawful

~ wedded spouse? To have and to hold from this day forward, for better or for worse, for
richer or for poorer, in sickness and in health; to love and to cherish as long as you

both shall live? (Repeat for Spouse 2) :

.RING CEREMONY(OPTIONAL) | -
. the ring please. Place the ring on his/her left ring finger and repeat

after me, “l give you this ring, in token and pledge of my constant faith and abiding
love. With this ring, | thee wed.” (Repeat for Spouse 2)

You have joined yourselves in solemn matrimony. May you strive all your lives to meet
this commitment with the same love and devotion that you now possess. For love is
truly the greatest gift we are given to share; love’s compassion is the glory of life.
Delight in each other's company and never take the other for granted, for you are

destined to enjoy the blending of your two lives.

And now, in as much as you, ' and have
given and pledged your love and faithfulness, each to the other, and have declared the

- same by joining hands, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Deputy Marriage
Commissioner by the State of California, | now pronounce you spouses for life.

Marriage Vows — long.doc



AFFIDAVIT RE: DUPLICATE MARRIAGE LICENSE (CA Family Code 360 and 510)

Pursuant to CA Family Code 360 and 510, if the marriage license is lost, damaged, or destroyed after the
marriage ceremony, but prior to registration, or deemed unacceptable for registration as presented due to
erasure(s), whiteout(s), and/or alteration(s), an affidavit and fee are required for a duplicate marriage license.
The duplicate license may not be issued later than one year after the date of the marriage and shall be returned
by the person solemnizing the marriage to the county recorder/clerk within one year of the date of the marriage.
This form must be completed by the officiant/person who performed the ceremony and must be
submitted in person or by mail; original/wet sighature required, electronic signatures are not acceptable.

Date of Marriage (Month/Day/Year): City: County:

First Person Full Legal Name:

Second Person Full Legal Name:

Officiant’s Full Legal Name:

Religious Denomination/Online Name of Organization:
Person’s registered with an online organization should enter the organization’s full name, i.e., “Universal Life Church” or “American Marriage Ministries” etc.
If judge, elected official, or deputy marriage commissioner, enter a single dash “ —*“

Officiant’s Title:
i.e., Judge, Minister, Priest, Deputy Marriage Commissioner; For online organizations, enter “Minister”

If Public Marriage License, you must provide the name(s) and address of the witness(es), print witness(es) name(s) and
address below as they appear in original license

1st witness NAME & ADDRESS:

2"d Witness NAME & ADDRESS:

| certify that the original License and Certificate of Marriage was presented to me before the marriage ceremony.
| understand that the license could not be registered because: (choose one and explain)

Marriage License was lost or destroyed after the ceremony:
Marriage License was not acceptable for registration as presented due to:

| declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct and that this declaration is executed on

day of , at
(DAY) (MONTH) (YEAR) (CITY, STATE)

Original/Wet Signature Required:

Address:

City, State, Zip Code:

Email:

Daytime Phone:

Please return this completed affidavit along with $29.00 fee to:
SF County Clerk
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place
City Hall, Room 160
San Francisco, CA 94102-4678
By mail payments: Personal check with preprinted account holder name or money order/cashier’'s check payable to
SF County Clerk; No cash payments by mail.

OFFICE USE ONLY: Marriage License Issuance Date: Marriage License #:

Date Affidavit Processed: Receipt #:

Duplicate Marriage License Given/Mailed To: Clerk’s Initials:
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