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Disclaimer: San Francisco Department of Public Health (SFDPH) cannot gnarantee that
the use of this booklet and implementing recommended Federal Food and Drug
Administration (FDA) strategies will prevent Tobacco Retail License Holders, owners,
managers or staff from selling tobacco products to persons under 21 years of age.  Preventing
illegal sales of tobacco products requires commitment, diligence, and action by Tobacco Retail
License Holders, owners, managers and staff.
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What is this Guide for?

Stores and retail businesses, like yours, are essential to
San Francisco. Your business contributes to the local
economy; it is a place where people feel socially connected
and can easily buy food and other products.

The San Francisco Department of Public Health wants to
support your store by giving you the tools and information
you and your employees may need to follow laws related to
selling tobacco products. We want to help you prevent your
staff and store from penalties and/or permit suspension. We
recognize that there are a lot of laws to remember and
follow so we hope this guide makes things easier for you.
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WARNING

San Francisco Department of Public Health may suspend a
tobacco permit for up to 365 days, depending on the number of
repeat violations, for selling tobacco products to anyone under

the age of 21 and for chronic repeat violations of health code
requirements.
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What is a Tobacco Product?

Tobacco Products include, but are not limited to, the
following: cigarettes, cigars, electronic cigarettes, vaporizers
and individual components, smokeless tobacco, snuff,
chew, bidi cigarettes, products made or produced from
tobacco or tobacco leaf, nicotine-containing products in any
form, other devices that simulate smoking, such as rolling

paper.

Cigarettes Cigarillos/Little
Cigars

Ss

-~ S8
Smokeless »

Blunt Wraps Tobacco Electronic Cigarettes
Vape Pens & E-Liauid Hookah
Mods -Liquids ooka



What are the Requirements to
Sell Tobacco Products in
San Francisco & California?

Retailers need one (1) permit and two (2)
licenses to sell tobacco in San Francisco:

1. San Francisco Tobacco Sales Permit & License
2. California Department of Tax and Fee Administration

(CDTFA) Tobacco
Retail CITY License STATE
San Francisco California

Apply
with

Fees

Pay to

Tobacco Sales Permit
& License

San Francisco
Department of Public
Health - Environmental
Health

https://www.sfdph.org/dph/f
iles/EHSdocs/Tobacco/Ret
ail_Tobacco_Application.pd
f

One Time Application
Fee: $100*

Annual License Renewal
Fee: $383*
https://www.sfdph.org/dph/f
iles/EHSdocs/ehsFees/SF_
EHB_Fees.pdf

Board of Appeals
surcharge: $51*

San Francisco Department
of Public Health (DPH) +
Tax Collector’s Office
(TTX)

Tobacco Retail License

California
Department of Tax and
Fee Administration

http://cdtfa.ca.gov/services/
permits-licenses.htm

Application Fee:
$265*

Annual Renewal Fee:
$265*

California Department of
Tax and Fee Administration

*All fees are subject to change. Please check agency websites.

Employee Training Verification
Form

| certify that my employer provided training on local laws
and preventing sales to those under 21 years old. My
employer showed me the location of the posted permits
and signs, showed me how to check customer’s age on a
photo ID and how to refuse tobacco sales.

Name Signature Date

Complete once a year & retain records up to 4 years
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Become a Healthy Retailer!

San Francisco Department of Public Health
believes that small businesses, like yours, are
essential to the health of neighborhoods and
communities. When you refuse to sell tobacco
or alcohol to those under 21 years old, you are
improving the health of your neighbors and
customers.

To help support small markets and corner store owners
like you, the Health Department and the Office of
Economic Workforce Development have partnered to
establish the HealthyRetailSF Program. This FREE
program provides financial assistance, equipment, and
other resources to stores that want to make healthy
changes and improvements. Stores that have participated
in the HealthyRetailSF Program have increased their
profits as well as increased the amount of fresh produce,
healthy snacks, and groceries available to their customers
and community.

Interested? Go to www.healthyretailsf.org -or-
Call 415- 254-5094

Daldas Market

in the Tenderloin

“I'm thrilled to welcome the community today to our
remodeled store,” said Daldas owner Satwinder Multani
“I'm proud of the changes we made, and that we will offer
our neighbors the opportunity to enjoy a healthier lifestyle

BEFORE
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San Francisco & California

Permits & License

SF Tobacco Sales Permit
Permit Issued Once (DPH)
Valid as long as Annual License is renewed
and paid each year.

o
6T,
\ _
W
Eells

UTHORIZING conduc
TOBACCO PRODUCT S
Type of Operation. Tobacco Only Shop

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Buneay of Esmvir:

S—

o

Permits Do Not Transfer

J




SF Tobacco Retail License & Business

Registration Certificate
Renew Every Year (TTX)

Annual Renewal fee must be paid every year to maintain a valid
Tobacco Sales Permit.

Clity & County of San Francisco License Certificate 1 Dr. Cation B Goodiet Pisce
Office of the Treasurer & Tax Collector o o
Porod Covered T Vou Fad
04/01/2015- 03312016 ] $285.00
Toesciohon
TOBACCO SALES
Bomrmes Commbe T Peoma Numbe .
123 KICOTINE DR l 2345
David Augustine Josa Cisneros __
Tax Collector Treasgres———ic- L
—_— —

California Department of Tax and Fee
Administration (CDTFA) Cigarette & Tobacco

License
Renew Every Year
Annual Renewal Fee must be paid each year to maintain a
valid CDTFA License.

MUST BE DISPLAYED COWSPICUOUSLY AT LOCATION ADDREEE FOR WHICH ISSUED

CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION

CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS LICENSING ACT OF 2003
RETAILER'S LICENSE

UCENSE NUMBER

LR Q STF 91.123458,

BUSINESS MAILING ADDRESS

TOBACCOLADIA EFFECTIVE DATE:
TOBACCOLANDIA, INC 07/08/2015 - 07/07/2016
123 NICOTINE DR

SAN FRANCISCO, CA 941231234

LOCATION ADDRESS.
123 NICOTINE DR
SAN FRANCISCO, CA $4123-12M

-j NOT VALID AT ANY OTHER LOCATION ADORESS
S HEREBY AUTHORIZEL
CIGARETTES ANJD ToBACC ODUCTS
THIS LICENSE IS VALID FOR THE EFFECTIVE DATE OR UNTIL SUSPENDED, REVOXED, OR CANCELED, AND IS NOT TRANSFERABLE
FOR GENERAL TAX QUESTIONS PLEASE TELEPHONE DUR TAXPAYER INFORMATION SECTION AT 800-800-T115 (TTV:711),
FOR INFORMATION ON YOUR RIGHTS, CONTACT THE TAXPAYERS' RIGHTS ADVOCATE OFFICE AT 888-324-2798 OR 916-324-2798.

BOE-443-LR REV. 3 ({311

All city and state licenses and permits must be up to
date and displayed in your store!
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Common Mistakes that Lead to
Selling to an Underage Customer

1. Not asking for ID for someone who looks younger than
27 years old

2. Asking for ID and not checking the age or
miscalculating the age

3. Accepting ID that is not government issued photo ID
(for example: school or work ID)

4. Overriding the computerized system for someone who
looks under 27 years old

5. Allowing the sale of tobacco products by untrained
employees or employees who have not received their

ONLY GOVERNMENT ISSUED IDENTIFICATION ACCEPTED.

DO NOT ACCEPT THE FOLLOWING:

B of San Francisco

RAM [Cowrad
STUDENT

O

Jane Doe

| TR T

School ID

F !

IDCARDIT

The bearer of this card = & duly
muthorised representative of
Your Company Mame Lid

Work 1D
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How to Refuse Sale to Preventing Sales to Minors

Post Both State and San Francisco Tobacco 21 Stickers

Customer Under Age 21 in a Visible Place for Cashiers, Clerks and Patrons

Sales clerk must refuse to sell tobacco products to . . :
a person who looks under 27 years old AND does not California Sale of Tobacco Products Sticker

have an ID or has an expired ID or counterfeit ID.

The Sale of Tobacco Products to Persons Under 21 Years
of Age Is Prohibited by Law and Subject to Penalties

To Report an Unlawful Tobacco Sale Call

1-800-5 ASK-4-ID

U.S. Armed Forces active duty personnel with military ID must be at least 18 years of age

Valid Identification May Be Required

San Francisco Tobacco 21 Sticker

City and County of San Francisco - Department of Public Health
San Francisco Health Code Article 19P

Prohibits the Sale of Tobacco Products

What to say when refusing a sale: including smokeless tobacco and electronic cigarettes
« “I'msorry. | cannot sell tobacco products without a to Persons 18, 19 or 20 Years of Age
valid ID.”

U In San Francisco
e “I'm sorry. It's a store pollcy to check IDs.” : U.S. Armed Forces active duty personnel with military ID

Must Be at Least 21 Years of Age .. ..o
Valid Identification Required ‘consumer, unaltered, and fully visible

Version 1 Printed 2016

e “I'msorry. | could be fined or lose my job if | sell to
you. Is there anything else | can do for you?”

San Francisco does not exempt military personnel
under 21 years of age

22 7



Requirements to Maintain a
San Francisco Tobacco Permit

. Pay annual fees for both San Francisco and California
licenses.

. Post all valid permits and licenses from San Francisco
Department of Public Health, San Francisco Tax
Collector, and California Department of Tax and Fee
Administration and make visible to employees, cashiers,
and customers.

. Post State of California required sticker
(page 7) visible to employees, cashiers, and patrons.

. Post BLUE San Francisco required Tobacco 21
sticker visible to employees, cashier, and patrons

(page 7).

Post “No Smoking” signs on the entrance of your
building. Get them here for free:
www.sftobaccofree.org/no-smoking-signs

. Post one general “No Smoking” sign inside business
establishment.

. Comply with local, state and federal laws related to
tobacco (pages 9-20), including NEVER selling single
cigarettes.

. Train employees annually on laws and requirements to
sell tobacco products. See page 12 for training
overview.

. Check the photo identification of anyone who looks
under 27 years old. See pages 21-23 for how to check

How to Check if Customers are
21 Years or Older

CALIFORNIA DRIVER LICENSE OR
IDENTIFICATION (ID) CARDS MAKE IT EASY!

Anyone under the age of 21 Anyone over the age of 21
is issued the VERTICAL will have a HORIZONTAL
(up and down) card. If the (sideways) driver’s license
person has a vertical driver's or ID. They are allowed to
license or ID, they are NOT purchase tobacco products.
ALLOWED to purchase

tobacco products.

_ CALIFORNIA"_

DRIVER LICENSE ‘=, CALIFORNIA: DRVERLICENSE
L 0011234563 e |1234568
- =rre oL

08/31/2015 £ no NONE
EXP '\ ¢ END NON
mCARDHCILDER\_'.I
Fu IMA -

exp. 08/31/2015
i oos 08/31/1993
AGE 21 IN 2014
PROVISIONAL UNTIL
AGE 18 IN 2011

SACRAMENTO, CA 95818
i pos 0B/31M8TT

T RSTR NONE

-

CLASS C
END NONE
RSTR NONE

Druge D Seonels

SEX F HAIR BAN  EYES BRN
HGT 508 WGT 125 55
oo

essiieso

— LM | el ot

(NSAMPLE
®;usuzy

2570 24TH STREET pr——

|
|
!
i
)
-

2570 TREET
s, , CA 95818
¥ "
" HAIR BRN EYES BLU
T 505" WGT 1251b i
65 %
D bar0rz01060221 21083010 0813072010

Invalid or Counterfeit IDs typically have:

o Expired valid dates e Altered look

e Photos that do not match « Holes, glue or tape
the person

Don’t forget to check birthdates on other forms of ID:
Passports and other State ID cards

ALWAYS ask for government issued photo ID if
someone looks younger than 27 years old.
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Under the Federal Drug
Administration’s Family
Smoking Prevention and
Tobacco Control Act,
Stores are NOT allowed to:

1.
2.
3.

Stores are required to:
1.

2.

Federal Laws that Impact
Tobacco Retailers

Sell single cigarettes

Sell flavored cigarettes

Have self-service displays of
tobacco products on counter
(including e-cigarettes,
e-liquids, and tobacco
wrappers)

Give out free samples of
tobacco products

Have vending machines with tobacco products.

Sell or distribute cigars or smokeless

tobacco without a health warning —GRALIEORNIA:
statement displayed on the package or 1234563
display case.

£xp.08/31/2015

ssssss

Check photo IDs of anyone who looks

under 27 years old i
. FNSUZY Q.
Sell only child proof packaged -0 ?“Fs:f.m. )
electronic cigarettes and e-liquids T N e
DB0aranr201060221/21093010 081302010

(effective October 2016)

FDA’s Small Business Assistance

www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegul

atorylnformation/ucm20082665.htm

Call: 1-877-287-1373
Email: SmallBiz.Tobacco@fda.hhs.gov
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San Francisco Laws that
Impact Tobacco Retailers

1. No Sale of E-Cigarettes

Starting January 29, 2020, stores are prohibited from
selling any e-cigarettes without FDA Marketing Orders,
including flavored e-cigarettes. For example: cigarettes are:
Nicotine Pod or E-liquid (sold without device), Vape Starter
Kit with Nicotine (sold under a price).

JuUL

More information at SF Dept of Public Health:
https://www.sfdph.org/dph/EH/tobacco/ecigarettes.asp

2. No Sale of Flavored Tobacco Products

Stores are prohibited from selling any nicotine or tobacco
product, including but not limited to smokeless/chew,
cigarettes, cigars, cigarillos, vape liquid and hookah
tobacco, that is manufactured to have an aroma and/or
flavor,_such as fruit.

More information at SF Dept of Public Health:
www.sfdph.org/dph/EH/Tobacco/flavoredtobacco.asp



San Francisco Laws that
Impact Tobacco Retailers

3. Minimum Age to Purchase Tobacco is 21

Effective June 9, 2016, the minimum age to purchase
tobacco products is 21 years of age. See pages 17-18.

« Anyone attempting to purchase tobacco
products must be 21 or older.

e Anyone selling tobacco products must
check a valid ID to ensure a buyer is 21
years old or older before selling.

4. Abatement Fee
Stores must collect a $1.00 abatement fee per pack of

cigarettes as of January 1, 2020. Abatement fee is paid to
the San Francisco Treasurer’s office in quarterly

More information at the Treasurer’s Office:
https://sftreasurer.org/business/taxes-fees/cigarette-litter-
abatement-fee-cig

(SF Administrative Code 105: Cigarette Litter Abatement Fee)

installments.
Sample Sign:

5. Smoke Free Environments Smoking/Vaping only
. . L 1) atthe curb, or
» No smoking or vaping inside 2) ifno cuth.
the store. at least 15 ft. from
exils, entrances,

e Ask customers to smoke or operable windows, and vents
vape at the curb.

e If no curb, smoking is allowed at least 15 feet from exits,
entrances, windows, and vents.

More information at SF Dept of Public Health:
www.sftobaccofree.org/no-smoking-signs

10

State Laws that Impact
Tobacco Retailers

California State Law

1. Minimum age to purchase tobacco, including hookah
and electronic cigarettes, is 21 years old or older,
effective June 9, 2016 .

2. Make sure tax stamps are the new, technology— based
stamp that can be read by a scanner.

Current Stamp (non-OPALINE™)

More Information at the CDTFA:
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub403.pdf

More information at the CDTFA:
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/tax-rates-stfd.htm

19



How is this Law Enforced?

California and San Francisco enforcement agencies use
under age youth decoys to check and see if stores sell
tobacco to anyone under 21 years old.

What happens if an employee
sells to someone under 217

Under California Law:

Employee or person selling tobacco
products can be subject to:

e Criminal action or misdemeanor;
e Criminal fine of up to $6000;

Under San Francisco Law

Tobacco permit can be suspended up to:
e 90 days for the first violation;

e 180 days for the second violation;

e 365 days (1 year) for the third violation.

Employers are responsible for everything that
happens at their business. Train your
employees to follow the law so that your store
does not lose customers or profit.

18

e Suspension or revocation of license.

San Francisco Laws that
Impact Tobacco Retailers

6. Tobacco Permit Density Cap

Each San Francisco Supervisorial District may only have up
to 45 stores holding a Tobacco Sales Permit. One cannot
open a store or sell tobacco unless the Supervisorial District
is under the cap and location meets other conditions.

More information at SF Dept of Public Health:
www.sfdph.org/dph/EH/tobacco
www.sftobaccofree.org/density

7. Storefront Transparency Law

Storefronts must be transparent at eye level between 4 ft to
8 ft in height and be 75% open to view 4 ft inside the store
from the window. This keeps you and your customers safe.

NN\

B visibility

More information at SF Planning Department:
Read the Guidelines:

http://default.sfplanning.org/publications_reports/Guidelines_Stor
efront_Transparency-112513.pdf
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How to Train Employees
Annually To Comply with Laws

WHEN SHOULD | TRAIN MY EMPLOYEES?

New employees: Before they start working at your
store and selling products

Existing employees: Once a year.

Each year in the spring, San Francisco Department of
Public Health sends mailings to all tobacco retailers about
new and existing laws related to selling tobacco products.
We suggest that you train and review with your
employees each year after you receive this packet.

HOW LONG SHOULD THE TRAINING BE? 30 minutes

WHAT SHOULD THE TRAINING COVER?
1. What is a tobacco product (page 3)
2. Laws that relate to selling tobacco products (pages 9-20)

3. How to make sure the customer buying tobacco products is
21 years or older (page 21)
4. How to refuse selling tobacco products to a customer under

age 21 (page 22)

5. Common mistakes people make resulting in selling to an
underage customer (page 23)

HOW DO | SHOW THAT MY EMPLOYEES ARE
TRAINED?

1. Every year after employees complete the training, ask
them to sign and date the training verification form on
pages 25-26. Maintain this record in your files for up to
4 years.

2. FDA also recommends that the store owner does their
own check to make sure your employees are not
selling to minors.

12

Minimum Age to Purchase
Tobacco is 21

In 2016, the minimum age to purchase tobacco products
increased from 18 to 21 years of age (Health Code 19P)
in San Francisco. Similarly, California State law (SBX2-7)
also raised the minimum age to purchase tobacco
products to 21 years of age, effective June 9, 2016.
Anyone attempting to purchase tobacco products must be
21 or older. Anyone selling tobacco products must check
a valid ID to ensure a buyer is 21 years old or older before
selling. The minimum age to purchase tobacco and
alcohol in California is 21 years old.

San Francisco does not exempt military personnel
under 21 years of age

Tobacco products are the
number one cause of
death in the United
States and worldwide.
Tobacco products can
lead to all forms of
cancer, heart disease,
stroke, and many other
diseases. All this could
be prevented by not using tobacco products.

Almost all (9 out of 10) adult smokers started smoking by
the age of 18. Increasing the minimum age to purchase
tobacco from 18 to 21 can prevent people from becoming
lifelong users of tobacco products. Youth 15-17 years old
will have a more difficult time buying tobacco products
underage. Raising the minimum age to purchase tobacco
protects youth from the harms of tobacco products and
ensures that they can have healthier lives that contribute
to their family and community.

17



Examples of tobacco products now
banned from sale in San Francisco:

Images are shown for educational purposes only

“Menthol” has a distinguishable “Berry” is a fruit flavor; mint
taste and aroma. has a distinguishable taste and
aroma.

JAING D .

i
i

“Cherry,” “Nectar,” “Melon,” “Apple,”
“Raspberry,” “Strawberry,” “Berry” and
“Fruit Medley” are fruit flavors; “Creme
Brulee” and “Vanilla” are candy flavors;

“Mint” and “Menthol” have distinguishable

tastes and aromas; “Hawaiian Pod” has an

image indicating it contains a flavor other
than tobacco.

“Strawberry,” “White Grape,”
“Grape,” “Peach,” and
“Blueberry” are fruit flavors.

B e |

“Lemonade” is a fruit flavored beverage;
“Raspberry,” “Blueberry,” “Orange,”
“Grape,” “Cherry” and “Strawberry” are
fruit flavors.

“Sour Apple” is a fruit flavor;
“Mint” has a distinguishable
taste and aroma.
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No Sale of E-Cigarettes

SF Health Code 19R and 19S Restrict the Sale,
Manufacture, and Distribution of Tobacco
Products, Including Electronic Cigarettes

The legislation was passed by the San Francisco Board of
Supervisors and approved by the Mayor on June 28,
2019. Starting on January 29, 2020 retailers must stop
selling or distributing restricted tobacco products.

How do we define “E-cigarette”?

An E-cigarette is any device or delivery system sold in
combination with nicotine for a single price which can be
used to deliver to a person nicotine in aerosolized or
vaporized form. An E-cigarette may also be known as
e-cigar, e-pipe, vape pen, e-hookah or other names. The
definition of E-cigarettes includes any liquid or substance
containing nicotine, whether sold separately or sold in
combination with any device that could be used to deliver
to a person nicotine in aerosolized or vaporized form.

Examples of E-cigarettes are:

¢ Nicotine Pod or E-liquid (sold without device)

o Vape Starter Kit with Nicotine (sold together under a
single price)

Electronic cigarettes do not include:

e Any device not sold in combination with any liquid or
substance containing nicotine (Example — Vape Pen
without nicotine).

More information at SF Dept of Public Health:
https://www.sfdph.org/dph/EH/tobacco/ecigarettes.asp
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Examples of e-cigarettes now banned
from sale in San Francisco:

Images are shown for educational purposes only

Vape Starter Kit
with Nicotine

a single price

Nicotine Pods
or E-liquids

Sold without
device

As of January 7, 2020, there are only two
Electronic Cigarettes products approved
to be sold in San Francisco:

1. Philip Morris Products S.A., Marlboro Heatsticks

2. Philip Morris Products S.A., IQOS System Holder and
Charger

200 HeatStinyqn

" vy
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Sold together under

No Sale of Flavored Tobacco

Products

San Francisco Health Code 19Q prohibits the
sale of all flavored tobacco products.

The voters affirmed the decision to prohibit the sale of all
flavored tobacco products in San Francisco in 2018.

What is a flavored tobacco product?

A flavored tobacco product includes menthol cigarettes,
flavored e-cigarette liquids, flavored blunt wraps, flavored
chewing tobacco, and other flavored tobacco products.

How can retailers comply?

1. No flavored product should be allowed on the shelf for
sale.

2. Selling, displaying, or offering flavored tobacco
constitutes a license violation and can result in a
suspension.

3. Refuse flavored products from distributors and do not
allow flavored products on your premises.

4. Inform customers that San Francisco law does not
permit the sale of flavored tobacco. Continue to abide
by all other laws and responsibilities of retailers.

Health inspections are conducted annually. Remember
that the sale of a flavored tobacco product to anyone
under the age of 21 would constitute two violations of San
Francisco law, and may result in a suspension.

Optional: Post the Flavored Tobacco flyer visible to
customers to inform them of the new law.

More information at SF Dept of Public Health:
www.sfdph.org/dph/EH/Tobacco/flavoredtobacco.asp
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