

The Police Commission

CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO

November 9, 2023

Mr. Ben Rosenfield Controller City Hall, Room 316 #1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102

Dear Mr. Rosenfield:

At the meeting of the Police Commission on Wednesday, November 8, 2023, the following resolution was adopted:

RESOLUTION 23-107

AWARDS GRANTED TO MEMBERS OF THE POLICE DEPARTMENT

WHEREAS, the following named members of the Police Department are commended for courageous service under the provisions of General Order 3.09, Section I.A.1 of the San Francisco Police Department, as approved by the Awards Committee on November 6, 2023 and November 8, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Chief of Police William Scott has recommended to the Police Commission that the said members be rewarded under the provisions of Section 8.405(a)(4) of the Charter of the City and County of San Francisco; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that Sergeant Joseph Reavey* and Officer Andre Taylor* are hereby awarded the Gold Medal of Valor and granted a reward of \$1,500.00, as provided for under said section of the Charter; and be it further

(*also being awarded a Meritorious Conduct Award)

RESOLVED, that Sergeant Brendan Caraway is hereby awarded the Silver Medal of Valor and granted a reward of \$1000.00, as provided for under said section of the Charter; and be it further

RESOLVED, Sergeant Daniel Solorzano is hereby awarded the Bronze Medal of Valor and granted the reward of \$500.00, as provided for under said section of the Charter; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the following recipients, are hereby awarded the Meritorious Conduct Award and granted a reward of \$200.00, as provided for under said section of the Charter:

Meritorious Conduct Award Recipients

Sergeant Troy Carrasco #1599 Sergeant Joseph Reavey #1026+

Officer Andre Taylor #2422+

(+also awarded a Gold Medal of Valor (noted above))

CINDY ELIAS President

MAX CARTER-OBERSTONE Vice President

LARRY YEE Commissioner

JAMES BYRNE Commissioner

JESUS YÁÑEZ Commissioner

KEVIN BENEDICTO Commissioner

DEBRA WALKER Commissioner

Sergeant Stacy Youngblood Secretary



The Police Commission

CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO

AYES: Commissioners Walker, Byrne, Yee, Yanez, Benedicto, Vice President Carter-Oberstone EXCUSED: President Elias

Very truly yours,

Ruphs for

Sergeant Stacy Youngblood Secretary San Francisco Police Commission

CINDY ELIAS President

MAX CARTER-OBERSTONE Vice President

LARRY YEE Commissioner

JAMES BYRNE Commissioner

JESUS YÁÑEZ Commissioner

KEVIN BENEDICTO Commissioner

DEBRA WALKER Commissioner

Sergeant Stacy Youngblood Secretary

1211/ks

cc: Captain R. Kobold/Staff Services Lieutenant P. McCormick/Staff Services Manager Belinda Chin/Payroll



November 6, 2023

Chief William Scott Chief of Police

1 .

Dear Chief Scott:

The Awards Certification panel that included you and Commissioners Yee and Byrne met on November 6, 2023. During the meeting, the panel certified the following members for Police Commission consideration for Medals of Valor and Meritorious Conduct Awards:

GOLD MEDAL OF VALOR

MV 22-11 1/11/23 Sergeant Joseph Reavey #1026 Officer Andre Taylor #2422

SILVER MEDAL OF VALOR

MV 22-02 6/19/21 Sergeant Brendan Caraway #2258

BRONZE MEDAL OF VALOR

MV 22-03 2/27/21 Sergeant Daniel Solorzano #2306

Meritorious Conduct Award

MCA 22-14 10-18-17 Sergeant Troy Carrasco #1599

MCA 22-12 1/11/23 Sergeant Joseph Reavey #1026 Officer Andre Taylor #2422

Respectfully submitted,

Sergeant Stacy Youngblood San Francisco Police Commission



APPROVED:

. ~ ~.

Forward to the Police Commission for consideration.

I respectfully recommend that these members of the Police Department be awarded Medals of Valor and Meritorious Conduct Awards pursuant to the provisions of Section 8.405 of the Charter of the City and County of San Francisco.

Willin Satt

WILLIAM SCOTT Chief of Police