

Office of the County Clerk

DECLARATION OF ACTIVE MILITARY SERVICE

l	, declare und	er penalty of perjury that I am an active uniformed
(PRINT TRUE LEGAL member of the United	NAME) States	, branch of the Armed Forces
currently serving in a d	(PRINT BRANCH OF THE ARMED FO deployed or deployable unit,	ORCES) applying for and obtaining a marriage license and
participating in the civi		
I further declare that the	ne true legal names of the pa	arties to be married are as follows:
(DDINT TOUS LEGAL	NAME OF FIRST PERSON	(DATE OF DIDTI LIMITED (COM)
(PRINT TRUE LEGAL	NAME OF FIRST PERSON)	(DATE OF BIRTH MM/DD/CCYY)
(PRINT TRUE LEGAL NAME OF SECOND PERSON)		(DATE OF BIRTH MM/DD/CCYY)
(APPOINTMENT DATE	<u> </u>	(CONFIRMATION NUMBER)
(SIGNATURE OF MILI	TARY APPLICANT)	(DATE SIGNED)
Acknowledgement by	two commanding officers of	the United States Armed Forces
We the undersigned d	eclare under penalty of perj	ury that, (PRINT NAME OF MILITARY APPLICANT)
Is applying for and obt	aining a marriage license ar	(PRINT NAME OF MILITARY APPLICANT) nd participating in the civil marriage ceremony and
, 0		
is currently serving in a	a deployed or deployable ur	III.
Witnessed this	day of	, 20
by		
Witnessed this	day of	, 20
by		
(SIGNATURI	E)	(PRINT NAME AND RANK)

Both parties to the marriage must personally appear at the County Clerk's office and present this original declaration duly signed by the active military applicant and acknowledged by two of his/her commanding officers of the United States Armed Forces.



Office of the County Clerk

San Francisco welcomes active uniformed members of the United States armed forces serving in deployed or deployable units for priority wedding services. The Office of the San Francisco County Clerk is responsible for issuing marriage licenses and conducting civil marriage ceremonies.

Requirements to Qualify for Military Priority Wedding Service:

- One or both parties to the marriage must be (an) active uniformed member(s) of the US armed forces currently serving in a deployed or deployable unit, AND
- Active military ID must be presented at the Office of the County Clerk, AND
- Original Declaration of Active Military Service Form DASF-01 must be executed and presented.

Legal requirements for marriage in California:

- Couple must apply and pay for a marriage license issued by a California County Clerk, and
- Ceremony must take place in California within 90 days of when the marriage license is issued, and
- Ceremony must be performed by an authorized person under CA Family Code Sections 400-401.

General Requirements:

- Both parties must be unmarried and not a registered domestic partner with another party.
- Both parties must present valid, unexpired, legal, authentic photo ID in English (driver's license, passport, state ID card, resident alien card, military ID).
- If your ID does not contain your full legal name, you must provide a certified copy of your birth record or a social security card.
- Both parties must appear together to apply for and receive their marriage license.
- If your previous marriage or State Registered Domestic Partnership (SRDP) ended within the last 90 days, you must bring a CERTIFIED copy of the final divorce decree, annulment or terminated SRDP issued by the Court or certified copy of death certificate. The "certified" copy must have an original court seal and a signature (or signature stamp) of the court clerk. It is the original seal and court clerk signature (certification) that make this a "certified" copy. The "CONFORMED / FILED / ENDORSED" stamp in the top right corner of the copy of the court order (usually issued by your attorney) is NOT the court clerk's certification and will NOT be accepted.
- No more than 6 guests total (includes witnesses, children, photographer, etc.)

It is your responsibility to ensure that you meet these requirements. Absolutely no exceptions will be made. No refunds offered for failure to meet these requirements!!



Office of the County Clerk

Two types of California marriage licenses are available:

PUBLIC

- Marriage ceremony may take place anywhere in the State of California
- At least one witness is required to be present at your ceremony.
- Your marriage record is public record.

CONFIDENTIAL

- Requires couples to be living together. Must sign affidavit under penalty of perjury for this requirement.
- Marriage Ceremony must take place in the County where the marriage license is issued.
- No witness is required to be present at your ceremony.
- Your marriage record is kept confidential from the public. Certified copies are only available to spouses on the marriage record upon satisfactory proof of identity to the County Clerk.

After issuance, a public marriage license cannot be changed to a confidential marriage license, and a confidential marriage license cannot be changed to a public marriage license, and information supplied on a marriage license cannot be changed.

Certified Copy of Your Marriage Certificate (legal proof of marriage): You must request and pay for a copy from the County Recorder. Your marriage certificate is registered with the County Recorder *in the county where you purchased your marriage license*. A Public Marriage License issued in San Francisco County must be recorded at the San Francisco Recorder's Office within ten (10) days from the date of the marriage ceremony. The marriage officiant may also mail the completed public marriage certificate to the Recorder's Office. Certified copies of a public marriage certificate can be purchased at the Recorder's Office during normal business hours, M-F (8:00 AM - 4:00 PM) for \$17.00* each. Acceptable form of payment includes: Cash, cashier's check, money order, traveler's check, State of California check made payable to: San Francisco Assessor-Recorder. Out of state checks or credit cards are not accepted. ATM machine located at northwest Rotunda Alcove, Rm. 175A.

Due to higher than normal demand, please plan to arrive at least 10-15 minutes early for your appointment. All persons entering City Hall must pass security check. Allow ample time for travel, traffic delays, parking, security check, and appointment check-in. Arriving late for your appointment check-in will be considered a missed appointment (no refunds) and you will need to schedule and pay for a new appointment. We are committed to minimizing delays for all parties.

No form of litter is permitted to be thrown anywhere in the building (includes outside steps). Helium balloons, alcohol, or knives are not allowed into the building. Guest limit is 6 people. No amplified music.

Traveling to San Francisco for your wedding? Go to http://www.sanfrancisco.travel for information on hotel packages, event locations, wedding resources, and more.

- * Fee subject to change
- **Excludes wait times and unforeseeable delays