

REDISTRICTING TASK FORCE CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO MINUTES

Held via Videoconference

(Remote access provided via teleconference)
www.sfgovtv.org

September 17, 2021 – 2:00 PM

Inaugural Meeting

Members: Jeremy Lee, Jose Maria (Chema) Hernández Gil, J. Michelle Pierce, Matthew Castillon, Arnold Townsend, Lily Ho, Raynell Cooper, Chasel Lee, Ditka Reiner

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

The Redistricting Task Force met in inaugural session through videoconferencing, and provided public comment through teleconferencing, on Friday, September 17, 2021. Clerk John Carroll called the meeting to order at 2:10 p.m.

On the call of the roll, Member Jeremy Lee, Member Hernández Gil, Member Pierce, Member Castillon, Member Townsend, Member Ho, Member Cooper, Member Chasel Lee, and Member Reiner were noted present. A quorum was present.

Angela Calvillo, Clerk of the Board (Board of Supervisors) conducted the ceremonial swearing-in of the 2020 Census Redistricting Task Force members.

2. Brief Remarks on the Purpose of the Task Force

John Arntz, Director (Department of Elections), and Adrienne Pon, Director (Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant Affairs), provided brief remarks on the purpose and obligations of the Task Force and its Members.

Speakers: Mark Powell; David Pilpel; spoke on various concerns relating to the hearing matter.

3. Introductions of the Redistricting Task Force Members

Each of the new members of the Redistricting Task Force shared introductory remarks and welcomed one-another to the body.

4. Introduction of the Clerk of the Board, Angela Calvillo, and staff, including meeting platforms, regular meeting schedule, parliamentarian authority, and outreach

Angela Calvillo, Clerk of the Board (Board of Supervisors), presented brief remarks introducing the services of the Office of the Clerk of the Board, including services related to remote and in-person meetings of the Task Force and cablecast services provided through SFGovTv; and answered questions raised throughout the discussion.

Speakers: Sana Sethi (SF Rising); Lauren Girardin and Jenny Tse (League of Women Voters San Francisco); David Pilpel; spoke on various concerns relating to the hearing matter.

5. Discussion and Action to designate a Member of the Task Force as Chair and designate the Vice-Chair

Clerk Carroll presented guideline procedures for nominating and voting on the offices of Chair and Vice Chair, and opened nominations for the office of Chair. Member Castillon nominated Member Townsend; Member Jeremy Lee nominated himself. Nominations were closed with Members Townsend and Jeremy Lee nominated.

Speakers: Caryl Ito and David Pilpel spoke in support of Member Townsend; Sana Sethi (SF Rising) spoke in support of Member Jeremy Lee.

Member Townsend was elected to the office of Chair by the following vote:

Votes for Member Townsend: 5

Member Castillon, Member Townsend, Member Ho, Member Chasel Lee, Member Reiner

Votes for Member Jeremy Lee: 4

Member Jeremy Lee, Member Hernández Gil, Member J. Michelle Pierce, Member Raynell Cooper

Clerk Carroll opened the nominations for the office of Vice Chair. Member Pierce nominated Member Cooper; Member Jeremy Lee nominated himself; Member Chasel Lee nominated member Reiner. Nominations were closed with Members Cooper, Jeremy Lee, and Reiner nominated. Sana Sethi (SF Rising); David Pilpel spoke in support of Member Jeremy Lee. Caryl Ito spoke in support of Member Reiner.

Member Reiner was elected to the office of Vice Chair by the following vote:

Votes for Member Reiner: 5

Castillon, Townsend, Member Ho, Member Chasel Lee, Member Reiner

Votes for Member Jeremy Lee: 3

Member Jeremy Lee, Member Hernández Gil, Member J. Michelle Pierce

Votes for Member Raynell Cooper: 1 Member Raynell Cooper

6. Discussion of governmental ethics laws, and public meeting and open records requirements that apply to the Task Force

Andrew Shen, Ana Flores, and Gus Guibert, Deputy City Attorneys (Office of the City Attorney), provided brief remarks on public meetings and open records requirements, including staff and Task Force Members communications and the applicability of the Sunshine Ordinance; and answered questions raised throughout the discussion.

Speakers: Lauren Girardin and Jenny Tse (League of Women Voters San Francisco); David Pilpel; spoke on various concerns relating to the hearing matter.

7. Introduction of consultant, Q2 Data and Research, and overview of services

Karin Mac Donald, Project Manager and Senior Redistricting Consultant (Q2 Data and Research) provided brief remarks on the services of Q2 Data and Research, including data preparation and GIS mapping tools, especially as concerns the tracking and presentation of data impacting communities of concern throughout the redistricting process; and answered questions raised throughout the discussion.

Speakers: Lauren Girardin (League of Women Voters San Francisco); spoke on various concerns relating to the hearing matter.

Chair Townsend requested that agenda item numbers 8 and 10 be heard together.

8. Future Agenda Items

Members discussed possible future agenda items as follows:

- *Drafting a regular meeting schedule;*
- *Discussing a plan for conducting future in-district meetings;*

Angela Calvillo, Clerk of the Board (Board of Supervisors); presented information and answered questions raised throughout the discussion.

Speakers: Lauren Girardin and Jenny Tse (League of Women Voters San Francisco); David Pilpel; spoke on various concerns relating to the hearing matter.

Member Pierce, seconded by Member Cooper, moved that the next Redistricting Task Force meeting be held at 5 p.m. on Monday, October 4, 2021. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 9

Jeremy Lee, Hernández Gil, Pierce, Castillon, Townsend, Ho, Cooper, Chasel Lee, Reiner

Member Jeremy Lee, seconded by Member Chasel Lee, moved that the previous vote be rescinded. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 9

Jeremy Lee, Hernández Gil, Pierce, Castillon, Townsend, Ho, Cooper, Chasel Lee, Reiner

Member Jeremy Lee, seconded by Member Chasel Lee, moved that the next Redistricting Task Force meeting be held at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, October 4, 2021. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 9

Jeremy Lee, Hernández Gil, Pierce, Castillon, Townsend, Ho, Cooper, Chasel Lee, Reiner

9. General Public Comment

Speakers: None.

10. Future Agenda Items

Please see the minutes for Agenda Item No. 8 above.

11. Adjournment

There being no further business, the Redistricting Task Force adjourned at the hour of 5:43 p.m.

N.B. The Minutes of this meeting set forth all actions taken by the Redistricting Task Force on the matters stated, but not necessarily in the chronological sequence in which the matters were taken up.

APPROVED: October 4, 2021 Redistricting Task Force