Read previous text alerts about coronavirus

See all of the text alerts that the City has sent about COVID-19. This page will be updated as alerts are sent.

Friday, September 4, 2020

Share the love and not the virus: Wear a mask, keep 6 ft apart and avoid sharing food, drinks and utensils. SF.gov/safersocializing

Sunday, August 16, 2020

SF Heat advisory through 9pm. Keep cool, hydrate, call at-risk friends, social distance, wear masks, prep for power outages: sf72.org

Friday, August 14, 2020

COVID-19 Heat Alert. Be Cool. Slow the Spread: hydrate, call older adults, avoid crowds, socially distance, wear face covering sf72.org

Friday, July 17, 2020

COVID-19 hospitalizations reaching critical levels. Avoid gatherings. Only plan activities with people you live with. SF.gov/KnowBeforeYouGo

Saturday, July 4, 2020

Do the right thing this 4th of July weekend and stay home. SF infections, hospitalizations are rising. More info: SF.gov/KnowBeforeYouGo

Fireworks cause fires, injuries, and anxiety in people and pets. 311 for fireworks, 911 for emergencies. More: sf-fire.org/fireworks-safety

Friday, July 3, 2020

Protect your family and celebrate 4th of July at home! SF infections and hospitalizations are on the rise. More info: SF.gov/KnowBeforeYouGo

Thursday, July 2, 2020

4th of July Weekend: Stay home. Stay smart. Respect each other. COVID-19 on the rise in SF. SF.gov/KnowBeforeYouGo

All SF beach parking lots including Ocean Beach, Crissy Field, Baker Beach, and Marina Green are closed through 4th of July weekend.

Friday, June 30, 2020

SF 4th of July fireworks show canceled to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Celebrate at home. If you must be out: SF.gov/KnowBeforeYouGo

Friday, June 26, 2020

Business reopenings scheduled for June 29 are on hold due to rapidly rising COVID19 cases in SF and statewide.

There is no change to businesses and activities currently allowed under prior reopening phases.

Reopening depends on you. Wear face coverings. Maintain distance. Practice good hygiene. Stay home if you're sick.

Do not wait to get tested. Get tested if you feel sick, must leave the house for work or have been exposed to sick people.

Stay informed by visiting sf.gov/reopening

Tuesday, June 9, 2020

COVID-19 testing is available for Excelsior and OMI residents at City College. Appointments required. Info: sf.gov/GetTestedSF or call 311.

Friday, June 5, 2020

A pop-up COVID-19 free testing site is now available at St. Mary's Cathedral. Learn more: sf.gov/GetTestedSF or call 311.

Sunday, May 31, 2020

SF curfew tonight 8 pm to 5 am. All must stay home except first responders, those seeking medical care and unsheltered. More www.sf72.org

Friday, May 29, 2020

New free COVID19 testing options in Bayview/Sunnydale from May 30 to June 7 sponsored by United in Health. Info: sf.gov/GetTestedSF

Face coverings are now required when leaving home. Cover your nose and mouth to protect others and let SF reopen safely. sf.gov/facecoverings

Thursday, May 28, 2020

A pop up COVID19 testing site is now available for Tenderloin residents. Learn more: sf.gov/GetTestedSF or call 311.

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

High temps continue: hydrate, keep cool, check on others. If seeking coolor temps outside, keep physical distance and cover face: www.sf72.org

Monday, May 25, 2020

High temps today: hydrate, keep cool, check on others. If seeking cooler temps outside, keep physical distance and cover face: www.sf72.org

Friday, May 15, 2020

We've expanded COVID-19 testing in San Francisco. For more details: SF.gov/GetTestedSF or call 311.

Monday, May 4, 2020

SF is offering COVID-19 testing for anyone who lives or works in SF. For more info, visit SF.gov/GetTestedSF

Friday, May 1, 2020

Effective May 4, Stay Home Order extended to May 31. Certain activities now allowed.

Friday, April 24, 2020

Nice weather is here but we must continue to stay close to home. Keep physical distance. Wear face coverings. Stop the Spread.

Wednesday, April 22. 2020

SF has free COVID19 testing for anyone with symptoms. For more info: sf.gov/citytestsf

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Face covering required for essential service outings. Covering nose & face prevents COVID19 spread. Enforcement starts 4/22 8am.

Saturday, April 18, 2020

Covering your face with a cloth or mask is now required while in essential businesses & public spaces in SF.

Sunday, April 12, 2020

As we continue to stay home, we can still enjoy the weekend. Keep your outdoor activities within walking distance to home. www.sf.gov

Saturday, April 11, 2020

Continue to stay home and keep physical distancing, even during this holiday weekend. Stay home, stay safe. www.sf.gov

Friday, April 10, 2020

Stay home, stay safe. Celebrate the holiday weekend with new traditions. Call, text or video chat with friends and loved ones. www.sf.gov

Tuesday, April 7, 2020

Muni service limited to busiest lines with focus on medical facility access & equity for people most reliant on transit. www.sfmta.com

Monday, April 6, 2020

Muni lines temporarily suspended starting Tues: 2 Clement, 3 Jackson, 5 Fulton, 7 Haight, 10 Townsend, 21 Hayes & 31 Balboa www.sfmta.com

Sunday, April 5, 2020

Expect Muni delays on Monday. If you need to make an essential trip use other options or plan for extra time. More info: www.sfmta.com

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

Health order to stay home extended to 5/3. This legal order is to slow COVID-19 virus spread & save lives. Learn more: sf.gov or call 311.

Saturday, March 28, 2020

Join your neighbors to stop the spread of Covid-19. Staying at home protects you, your family, and our community. Info - sf.gov

Stay home and keep communities safe! Only leave for essential activities like groceries, medical services or to help a relative or friend.

Help stop the spread! Stay home except for essential activities. Get fresh air, but if you have to drive to a walk or hike, it's too far.

The easiest way to protect your neighbors and loved ones is to simply stay home. Together, we can stop the spread of Covid-19.

Friday, March 27, 2020

As we continue to stay home we can still enjoy the weekend. Keep your outdoor activities within walking distance to home. #stopthespread

Tuesday March 24, 2020

Staying home helps to slow COVID-19 & keeps our most vulnerable safer. Do your part. Stay home. Together we can save lives: www.sf.gov

 

Sunday March 22, 2020

Reach out & talk to someone. Call/text a relative/friend/neighbor who may be socially isolated. Stay healthy for older adults

Stay home, save lives. If your outing is essential, keep 6 feet of space & avoid crowds. More: sf.gov

 

Friday March 20, 2020

Stay Home Order still in place this weekend. Avoid crowds & maintain 6 feet of space. More: sf.gov

Staying home disrupts the spread of COVID18 & protects people vulnerable to illness. More: sf.gov

Tuesday March 17, 2020

To slow COVID19 spread all in SF ordered to stay home except for essential activities. Your cooperation will help save lives. sf.gov

Monday March 16, 2020

Urgent Official Health Officials: Slow COVID19 spread. Residents to stay home except for essential activities. More information.

Una Orden Oficial Urgente: Desde 12:10am al 17 de marzo 20 todos en SF deben de permanecer en casa, menos salidas esencials

Urgent Health Order: As of 12:01am 3/17/20 everyone in SF ordered to stay home except essential activities. More information

Saturday March 14, 2020

San Francisco issues Health Order limiting visitors and non-essential staff to SF hospitals. See the full health order.

Mayor Breed announces Give2SF Fund to provide shelter, food, and assistance in response to coronavirus. More info: www.give2sf.org

Friday, March 13, 2020

To disrupt the spread of COVID19, all non-essential events over 100 people are now prohibited in SF.

For the latest developments and updates on San Francisco's response to COVID-19, see SF.gov's coronavirus resource.

Thursday, March 12, 2020

To protect vulnerable residents, SF is restricting visitors from all long-term care facilities. See the full release.

Wednesday, March 11, 2020

To disrupt the spread of COVID-19, all large non-essential events over 1,000 people are prohibited in SF. See full public health order.

Monday, March 9, 2020

COVID-19 is in SF. Help reduce spread: clean surfaces and wash hands. Find current case count.

Sunday, March 8, 2020

Relatives of guests on the Grand Princess Cruise can call a family assistance hotline: 888-358-8055. See coronavirus info from Department of Public Health.

Saturday, March 7, 2020

Together we can reduce coronavirus spread. Clean surfaces, wash hands and remind others to do the same. See FAQs from Department of Public Health.

Friday, March 6, 2020

To reduce the spread of coronavirus SF health officials advice cancelling non-essential community events for next 2 weeks. See more from the Department of Public Health.

Last updated September 05, 2020