Get specialized help for key business industries

Learn about resources and programs for industries including fashion, manufacturing, nightlife, tech, tourism, and more.

Sector-based support

The City offers one-on-one guidance to help new businesses in a variety of sectors open quickly, including access to capital, innovative programs, and technical assistance. Resources include:

City Liaison: Specialized assistance in navigating city government including permitting and zoning help, and a single point of contact at the city to coordinate services for the unique needs of your industry.

Workforce Services: Assistance with employee recruitment, subsidized job training for new hires and skills upgrading, and employee bonding and retention services. San Francisco provides customized hiring and employee training services to companies including financial assistance for training programs and recruitment assistance for pre-screening potential employees.

Real Estate: Site selection, relocation, and expansion assistance with guidance towards areas that are zoned and appropriate for your needs.

Business Development: Access to an extensive network of business resources and referrals, focused on the needs of the individual business, as well as training and education referrals.

For information and direct help, contact a team member below who specializes in your industry.

Contact

Financial & Professional Services
Tourism

Laurel Arvanitidis
laurel.arvanitidis@sfgov.org
 

Nightlife and Entertainment

Ben Van Houten
ben.vanhouten@sfgov.org
 

Nonprofits

Lex Leifheit
lex.leifheit@sfgov.org
 

Technology
Clean Technology and Green Business
Life Sciences and Health Care

Manish Goyal
manish.goyal@sfgov.org
 

International

Mark Chandler
mark.chandler@sfgov.org
 

Fashion
Manufacturing, Production, Distribution, and Repair (PDR)
Retail

Dylan Smith
dylan.smith@sfgov.org
 

Film

Manijeh Fata
manijeh.fata@sfgov.org
 

Last updated July 27, 2022