

Draft Minutes

Committee on Information Technology Meeting

Thursday, October 17, 2024

10:00 am – 12:00 pm City Hall 305, WebEx Online Event

Members

Carmen Chu, City Administrator, Chair

Mike Makstman, Interim City Chief Information Officer, Executive Director, Department of Technology

Nathan Sinclair, Acting Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Technology

Sophia Kittler, Director, Mayor's Office of Innovation

Aaron Peskin, President, Board of Supervisors

Angela Calvillo, Clerk, Board of Supervisors

Greg Wagner, Controller

Carol Isen, Director, Department of Human Resources

Dr. Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health

Dennis Herrera, General Manager, Public Utilities Commission

Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library

Mary Ellen Carroll, Director, Department of Emergency Management

Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport

Jeffrey Tumlin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency

Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency

Mawuli Tugbenyoh, Acting Executive Director, Human Rights Commission

1. Call to Order by Chair

Katie Petrucione called the meeting to order at 10:02 AM, provided instruction on how to give public comment, and conducted the roll call.

2. Roll Call

Members Present

Katie Petrucione for Carmen Chu, City Administrator, Chair

Mike Makstman, City Chief Information Officer, Executive Director, Department of Technology

Nathan Sinclair, Acting Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Technology

Sophia Kittler, Director, Mayor's Office of Innovation

Calvin Yan for Aaron Peskin, President, Board of Supervisors

Edward De Asis for Angela Calvillo, Clerk, Board of Supervisors

ChiaYu Ma for Greg Wagner, Controller

Mike Cotter for Carol Isen, Director, Department of Human Resources

Eric Raffin for Dr. Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health
Jennifer S. Hopkins for Dennis Herrera, General Manager, Public Utilities Commission
Maureen Singleton for Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library
Ray Ricardo for Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport
Lisa Walton for Jeffrey Tumlin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency
Crystal Chang for Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency
Amelia Martinez-Bankhead in for Mawuli Tugbenyoh, Acting Executive Director, Human Rights
Commission

COIT Staff
Danny Thomas Vang
Julia Chrusciel
Damon Daniels

3. General Public Comment

Chris Ward Clein recommended departments be cautious of the Bitfocus One Design database.

4. Approval of the Meeting Minutes from September 19, 2024 (Action Item)

There was no public comment.

Ray Ricardo initiated a motion to approve the minutes, Lisa Walton seconded. The motion was approved by Katie Petrucione, Mike Makstman, Nathan Sinclair, Sophia Kittler, Edward De Asis, ChiaYu Ma, Mike Cotter, Eric Raffin, Jennifer S. Hopkins, Maureen Singleton, Ray Ricardo, Lisa Walton, and Crystal Chang. Calvin Yan and Amelia Martinez-Bankhead abstained from the vote.

5. Approval of Public Seat Applicants (Action Item)

Committee members asked the following questions:

- What are your expectations of the committee, and what does success look like for you?
- Can you elaborate on the differences in perspective between the private and public sectors?
- Can you elaborate on your experience with balancing service delivery while protecting individual privacy?
- What is your experience with the intersection between privacy and AI?

John Wright suggested that COIT institute policies and procedures to prevent conflicts of interest, as the two public seat applicants have worked with several large competitors of his company.

Sophia Kittler initiated a motion to approve the two applicants, Jennifer S. Hopkins seconded. The motion was approved by Katie Petrucione, Mike Makstman, Nathan Sinclair, Sophia Kittler, Calvin Yan, Edward De Asis, ChiaYu Ma, Mike Cotter, Eric Raffin, Jennifer S. Hopkins, Maureen Singleton, Ray Ricardo, Lisa Walton, Crystal Chang, and Amelia Martinez-Bankhead.

6. Review Domain Registration and Management Policy (Informational Item)

Cyd Harrell and Mike Makstman Presented on the draft Domain Registration and Management Policy.

Committee members asked the following questions:

- What is the lift for individual departments to move domain registration and migrate content?
- What is the communications plan for smaller departments who may stand up websites at random?
- Has there been any conversation on requiring that departments use the same instance, in relationship to email domain?
- Will this effort consolidate the number of domains?

Committee members made the following suggestions:

• Create a comment registry of department feedback

A member of the public made the following suggestions:

- Have a SF.gov URL shortener
- Preserve both old and fake domains
- Do not lock the city in by communicating to "only trust SF.gov domains"

7. Update on the New SF.gov Content Management System (Informational Item)

Cyd Harrell and Rebecca Otto presented on the December 2024 rollout of the new sf.gov content management system.

There was no public comment.

8. Chair Update

Katie Petrucione let committee members know that the COIT Director job announcement was reopened.

There was no public comment.

9. CIO Update

Mike Makstman provided an update on the ChatGPT Enterprise Pilot. This included the number of departments using the platform, number of users, number of conversations, number of people in the Department of Technology's latest training, and next steps.

Committee members asked the following questions:

• Is there ability to reuse the information collected in user conversations?

There was no public comment.

10. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:36 AM.