

Minutes

Committee on Information Technology Meeting

Thursday, April 18, 2024

10:00 am – 12:00 pm City Hall 305, WebEx Online Event

Members

Carmen Chu, City Administrator, Chair

Mike Makstman, Interim City Chief Information Officer, Executive Director, Department of Technology

Nathan Sinclair, Acting Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Technology

Sophia Kittler, Director, Mayor's Office of Innovation

Aaron Peskin, President, Board of Supervisors

Angela Calvillo, Clerk, Board of Supervisors

Greg Wagner, Controller

Carol Isen, Director, Department of Human Resources

Dr. Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health

Dennis Herrera, General Manager, Public Utilities Commission

Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library

Mary Ellen Carroll, Director, Department of Emergency Management

Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport

Jeffrey Tumlin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency

Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency

Sheryl Davis, Executive Director, Human Rights Commission

1. Call to Order by Chair

Katie Petrucione called the meeting to order at 10:03 AM, provided instruction on how to give public comment, and conducted the roll call.

2. Roll Call

Members Present

Katie Petrucione for Carmen Chu, City Administrator, Chair

Michael Lat for Mike Makstman, Interim City Chief Information Officer, Executive Director, Department of Technology

Sophia Kittler, Director, Mayor's Office of Innovation

Calvin Yan for Aaron Peskin, President, Board of Supervisors

Edward De Asis for Angela Calvillo, Clerk, Board of Supervisors

Todd Rydstrom for Greg Wagner, Controller

Kate Howard for Carol Isen, Director, Department of Human Resources

Eric Raffin for Dr. Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health
Jennifer S. Hopkins for Dennis Herrera, General Manager, Public Utilities Commission
Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library
Michelle Geddes for Mary Ellen Carroll, Director, Department of Emergency Management
Rene Leedeman for Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport
Lisa Walton for Jeffrey Tumlin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency
Natalie Toledo for Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency
Amelia Martinez-Bankhead for Sheryl Davis, Executive Director, Human Rights Commission

COIT Staff

Danny Thomas Vang Julia Chrusciel Damon Daniels

3. General Public Comment

Chris Ward Clein recommended that members take a look into the security of IP and phone systems.

4. Approval of the Meeting Minutes from March21, 2024 (Action Item)

Todd Rydstrom noted that the new Controller is Greg Wagner.

There was no public comment.

Todd Rydstrom initiated a motion to approve the minutes with the edit, Michael Lambert seconded.

The motion was approved by Katie Petrucione, Michael Lat, Sophia Kittler, Calvin Yan, Edward De Asis, Todd Rydstrom, Kate Howard, Eric Raffin, Jennifer S. Hopkins, Michael Lambert, Michael Geddes, Rene Leedeman, Lisa Walton, Natalie Toledo, and Amelia Martinez-Bankhead.

5. Review and Approve Technology Projects and Funding Recommendations for FY 2024-2025 and FY 2025-2026 (Action Item)

Damon Daniels presented on technology projects and funding recommendations moved forward by the Budget and Performance Subcommittee.

Committee members asked the following questions:

- Was there an analysis conducted on the minimum level of investment for departments to maintain healthy operations?
- Has there been thought placed into adding a third category of funding: a maintenance category, in conjunction to (1) Major IT Projects and (2) Annual Projects?
- What is the process of going through the list if the low scenario is not funded?
- Why was the permitting project pushed out to the second year high scenario?

There was no public comment.

Kate Howard initiated a motion to approve the high and low recommended funding scenarios, Michelle Geddes seconded.

The motion was approved by Katie Petrucione, Michael Lat, Sophia Kittler, Calvin Yan, Edward De Asis, Todd Rydstrom, Kate Howard, Eric Raffin, Jennifer S. Hopkins, Michael Lambert, Michael Geddes, Rene Leedeman, Lisa Walton, Natalie Toledo, and Amelia Martinez-Bankhead.

6. Chair Update

Katie Petrucione updated committee members on the public seat recruitment, and requested that departments make a submission to the AI Use Case Survey distributed by COIT staff.

Committee members asked the following questions:

- Will COIT staff be looking for a public seat member who has policy or technical expertise?
- Will there be an update on the findings from the AI Use Case Survey?
- Are there any updates for the COIT Director position?

There was no public comment.

7. CIO Update

Michael Lat gave an introduction to Microsoft Copilot and the Department of Technology's rollout plans.

There was no public comment.

8. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 10:45 AM.