Minutes

Committee on Information Technology Meeting

Thursday, February 15, 2024 10:00 am – 12:00 pm City Hall 305, WebEx Online Event

Members

Carmen Chu, City Administrator, Chair

Mike Makstman, Interim City Chief Information Officer, Executive Director, Department of Technology

Nathan Sinclair, Acting Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Technology

Sophia Kittler, Director, Mayor's Office of Innovation

Aaron Peskin, President, Board of Supervisors

Angela Calvillo, Clerk, Board of Supervisors

Ben Rosenfield, Controller

Carol Isen, Director, Department of Human Resources

Dr. Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health

Dennis Herrera, General Manager, Public Utilities Commission

Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library

Mary Ellen Carroll, Director, Department of Emergency Management

Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport

Jeffrey Tumlin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency

Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency

Sheryl Davis, Executive Director, Human Rights Commission

1. Call to Order by Chair

Carmen Chu called the meeting to order at 10:04 AM. Katie Petrucione provided instruction on how to give public comment, and conducted the roll call.

2. Roll Call

Members Present

Carmen Chu, City Administrator, Chair

Mike Makstman, Interim City Chief Information Officer, Executive Director, Department of Technology

Nathan Sinclair, Acting Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Technology

Sophia Kittler, Director, Mayor's Office of Innovation

Calvin Yan for Aaron Peskin, President, Board of Supervisors

Angela Calvillo, Clerk, Board of Supervisors

Todd Rydstrom for Ben Rosenfield, Controller

Kate Howard for Carol Isen, Director, Department of Human Resources

Eric Raffin for Dr. Grant Colfax, Director, Department of Public Health Jennifer S. Hopkins for Dennis Herrera, General Manager, Public Utilities Commission Maureen Singleton for Michael Lambert, City Librarian, Public Library Michelle Geddes for Mary Ellen Carroll, Director, Department of Emergency Management Rene Leedeman for Ivar Satero, Director, San Francisco International Airport (Joined at 10:10 AM)

Lisa Walton for Jeffrey Tumlin, Director, Municipal Transportation Agency Alexander Shoyket for Trent Rhorer, Executive Director, Human Services Agency

COIT Staff

Danny Thomas Vang Julia Chrusciel Damon Daniels

3. General Public Comment

Chris Ward Kline suggested that members investigate a specific system because of issues with access and credential information, data management, and intellectual property.

4. Approval of the Meeting Minutes from November 16, 2023 (Action Item)

There was no public comment.

Kate Howard initiated a motion to approve the minutes, Michelle Geddes seconded. The motion was approved by Carmen Chu, Mike Makstman, Nathan Sinclair, Sophia Kittler, Calvin Yan, Angela Calvillo, Todd Rydstrom, Kate Howard, Eric Raffin, Jennifer S. Hopkins, Maureen Singleton, Michelle Geddes, Lisa Walton, and Alexander Shoyket.

5. Surveillance Technology Policy Amendment Review: Security Cameras (Action Item)

Guy Clarke, Joyce Mamiya, Derek Phipps, and Seth Morgan presented on behalf of the Airport on their Pre-Security Camera Amendments.

Committee members asked the following questions:

- Is there a reason why AirTrain is now being reviewed and included in the policy? The department was waiting for CAT advice on whether to include BART video and the SFO shuttles because it was technically previously exempt.
- Does our local command incident structure (DEM) have access to footage as needed, similar to FEMA and Cal OES?
- When you note law enforcement, is that only in the US? Or given the airport's work with international carriers, would that also include those in other countries as well?

There was no public comment.

Sophia Kittler initiated a motion to move the policy forward, Michelle Geddes seconded. The motion was approved by Carmen Chu, Mike Makstman, Nathan Sinclair, Sophia Kittler, Calvin Yan, Angela Calvillo, Todd Rydstrom, Kate Howard, Eric Raffin, Jennifer S. Hopkins, Maureen Singleton, Michelle Geddes, Lisa Walton, and Alexander Shoyket.

6. Review COIT Application Summary for FY 2024-25 & FY 2025-26 (Informational Item)

Damon Daniels presented an overview of department submissions for the next two years.

Committee members asked the following questions:

- What are next steps in regard to presentations?
- What is the Gen AI Center of Excellence?
- For AIR's project on private LTE, how is it being funded and how extensive is the network?

There was no public comment.

7. Chair Update

Carmen Chu let the committee members know that ADM will be posting the job announcement soon for the COIT Director, and asked everyone to think about and refer potential candidates.

8. CIO Update

Mike Makstman presented on four potential areas of exploration for citywide cost savings.

Committee members asked the following questions:

- In terms of next steps, will DT be reaching out to departments, or expect interested parties to do so?
- Is there a licensing clause for technology that the city could add to its solicitation, similar to the shared use clause for Chapter 21.16?
- Does DT manage all cellular contracts, including for enterprise departments, and why is that the case?

9. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:01 AM.